top of page
  • Writer's pictureCatrina Gardner

Keeping It Together: 5 Strategies for Juggling Work and Parenting at Home

As a mom who works from home with a toddler, I know all too well the struggle of trying to balance a workload while also being fully present for my child. It can be a daunting task to manage both responsibilities without feeling like I’m shortchanging one or the other. I once said, "I feel like I'm failing at TWO jobs"! Even though I’ve been doing it for a while now, I still struggle with it on a daily basis. But through trial and error, I’ve discovered some tips that have helped me maintain a work-life balance that works for both me and my family.


Here are my tips:

  1. Create a schedule - Having a set schedule can help you manage your time more efficiently. It’s important to block out specific hours for work and stick to them as closely as possible. This can help you avoid the temptation to work during your child’s nap time or after they’ve gone to bed, allowing you to fully focus on the other important things in your life like cleaning, laundry, or (my favorite) personal TV time.

  2. Make the most of your child’s independent playtime - Toddlers are notorious for their short attention spans, but they do have moments when they’re content to play on their own for a little while. Use those moments to your advantage by tackling small tasks that don’t require your full attention. For example, in my work doing social media, I can check my clients social media pages and work on engagement while my son plays quietly beside me.

  3. Use screen time judiciously, but shame-free - a lot of people have a lot of feelings about screen time. Chances are if you're worried about it... you're doing a good job. Keep in mind that we're all doing the best we can! Of course interactive play is better than screen time, but if it helps for parts of your day, that's ok!

  4. Ask for help - Don’t be afraid to ask for help when you need it. It's hard to find your tribe especially as we come out of the pandemic. But your tribe may be even bigger than you think! My work and coworkers are part of mine. The entire team at Vision Advertising is super supportive of my schedule and has been incredibly helpful as I switch up my schedule depending on my son's development.

  5. Take breaks - It’s important to take breaks throughout the day to recharge and refocus. Even if it’s just 10 minutes to stretch your legs or grab a snack, taking a break can help you come back to your work feeling refreshed and energized.



Balancing work and parenting is a challenging task, especially when you’re doing it from home with a toddler. But with the right strategies in place, it is possible to achieve a work-life balance that works for you and your family. Remember that finding the right balance is an ongoing process, so don’t be too hard on yourself if it doesn’t happen overnight. With patience and persistence, you can find a routine that works for everyone. And also, in case no one has told you, you're doing a great job. ☺️

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page