top of page
  • Writer's pictureCatrina Gardner

Bancroft Tower | Worcester, MA

A couple weeks ago I discovered a hometown castle through the wonderful world wide web! Ok, it’s not really a castle, but it’s less than a 20 minute drive from my home so it’ll do in a pinch! Bancroft Tower is located in Worcester, MA and it’s listed on the National Register of Historic Places.




Specifically located in Salisbury Park, Bancroft Tower was built in 1900 in memory of George Bancroft. He was a local politician, historian, and statesman. At the site there is an in-ground plaque describing the reasoning for the structure.


BORN AT THE FOOT OF THIS HILL HE ROSE TO THE POSTS OF SECRETARY OF THE NAVY FOUNDER OF THE U.S. NAVAL ACADEMY ANNAPOLIS, MARYLAND U.S. MINISTER TO GREAT BRITAIN AND GERMANY THIS MEMORIAL WAS BUILT BY HIS FRIEND AND ADMIRER STEPHEN SALISBURY III

I drove over to the tower bright and early this morning with the rising sun. I wanted to get there at sunrise for 2 reasons: 1: that golden hour magic lighting. 2: I was hoping no one else would be there to watch me take selfies by myself. Unfortunately there WAS someone there when I arrived! However, they were in their car and left shortly, so all was well and I was able to admire the tower in solitary peace.




It was also FREEZING at 6:00am this morning. Something I wasn’t prepared for. We’re nearing the end of April and the fact that our mornings are 32 degrees is pretty upsetting. My fingers went numb walking around this tower. It was worth it though.




The early morning sunrise was absolutely beautiful on the tower. The location is quant and in a very pretty area of Worcester. I would love to come back and visit again. October is  great time to visit the tower. On Sundays during the month of October, the tower is opened and people can climb to the top. That is definitely something I would like to do! Until then, I’ll just roam the bottom of the castle.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page